Toyota Tacoma frame rusting Issue.

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
Sep 30, 2017
Hi all. I am a former Toyota dealership mechanic. I have owned 4 different Toyota pickups in the last 25 years. I tend to hold on to them for a while. I really like the dependability of Toyota vehicles.
Apparently, Toyota has been having problems with the frame rusting on the pickups. Some are so bad that they replace the frame.
My situation isn't so dire. I do have surface rust covering the complete frame. We all know rust does not go away. It just gets worse. I inherited this 2006 Tacoma 2 years ago. I noticed it had rust then. A couple months later I went to the local Toyota dealer, here in West Texas. I was told there is nothing they can do for me as there weren't holes in the frame.
I received a letter from Toyota stating that the Rust program was extended to Jan 31, 2019. So I went back to my local dealer, this morning, and was told the same thing. They would not be able to help.