Tax on resort fee?!

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
Mar 22, 2017
Hello. I work as an admin and I am reconciling a trip for a traveler. So we prepaid the room which included the room occupancy tax, (state) tourism assessment tax/fee, (city) tourism marketing district tax/fee. Then on a separate folio they charged a resort fee AND those same taxes (different amounts) and claim that they charge those same taxes on the resort fee. They claim because we did not agree to pay the resort fee in our prepayment they are charging it after the fact. We have a corporate account with several local hotels, including Hilton. Something seems fishy here. Basically they are claiming the resort fee + taxes/fees on the resort fee as an incidental. In addition to the 30 dollars a day for parking. Anybody encounter such a thing? I am waiting on my contact in accounts to get back to me but I thought I'd see what all of you had to say. Thanks!

Jan 11, 2017
Yes, I do encounter this frequently: Vegas hotels consider resort fee + taxes on resort fee as incidental. (At least they always warn about it during reservation.) In Vegas parking is not part of the resort fee or the basic room price.