Room type offered does not exist, cannot get response from Priceline

  • Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
Dec 3, 2019
10
11
3
#1
I booked a deal through Priceline. The room type offered doesn't even exist, and what we got does not sleep the number of people I put in for. It was an Express deal. When I speak to Priceline they tell me it's been "escalated", but almost 2 months later and no one gets back with me. How can they lock you into a deal on a room type that doesn't even exist? The room type offered, and that I selected, was a "1 bedroom suite, 4 beds requested" which would have easily accommodated our party of 6. However, the only 1 bedroom available at the hotel they gave me is limited to 2 beds. There are no other options at this hotel. So they offered a room that didn't even accommodate the number of people I told them I have. I booked another express deal a few days earlier and the hotel given for that deal works perfectly fine. It was also a 1 bedroom suite room type and sleeps our entire party of 6. So I didn't realize upon booking the second deal that this was even a possibility. I assumed if I told it I had 6 people it would only offer me a room that accommodated 6 people. And the fact that it specifically said "4 beds requested" as the room type led me to believe that this was a possibility and the room would accommodate the number of guests I stated we had. I would like a room that sleeps the number I said I have (upgrade, I guess), moved to a hotel that has the necessary room (which we were given on another Express deal for the same trip, different night, and will work great), or a refund so I can book the appropriate room.

Is there anything I can do?
 

Neil Maley

Moderator
Staff Member
Advocate
Dec 27, 2014
20,745
20,324
113
New York
www.promalvacations.com
#2
The key to the deal is “4 beds REQUESTED”. You can request but it’s never guaranteed when it says requested.

If your search and purchase was for one room for 6 people and that’s not what the deal ended up being, here are our company contacts for Priceline and you can escalate it yourself.

https://www.elliott.org/company-contacts/priceline/

This is how to write- one executive at a time. Start with the first executive and tell him the name of who you last heard from that said it was escalated and that you’ve been waiting 2 months for an answer.

https://forum.elliott.org/threads/resolving-consumer-complaints-and-developing-a-paper-trail.8903/
 
Jan 6, 2015
3,397
4,050
113
the United States
#3
Detailed Terms and Conditions are here: https://www.priceline.com/static-pages/terms_en.html

In the paragraph titled Hotel Accommodations and Special Requests, it states:

Room assignments are based on hotel availability and are at the hotel's discretion​

Thus it seems that this hotel does not have to honor your request. At least that is one strong possibility.

However, you could appeal to Priceline. State you would like a different hotel.

If you have not done so already, you can escalate this in writing.

Some dos and don'ts when writing
Do not use inflammatory language - be polite and professional
Do not attach files - their email system may discard your email before anyone reads it
Do not start with the CEO - begin at the lowest level in the company contacts shown here: https://www.elliott.org/company-contacts/priceline/
Present a brief summary (list) and give each contact one (1) week to respond before escalating to the next level
 
Dec 19, 2014
559
1,457
93
47
#4
Do you have screen shots to show what you saw?
You state that you have booked an Express Deal. My understanding with the Express Deal is that it is an opaque booking. That is, you select the deal, they give you the hotel. So I'm not sure how you got the impression that you were selecting a "1 bedroom 4 bed suite."
Also, 4 beds in a 1 bedroom suites simply don't exist. It is not a standard setup. Usually a 1 bedroom suite will have 1 king bed + sleeper sofa. On rare occasions you will find 2 beds in the bedroom + sleeper sofa, which would accommodate 6 guests.

In the future, if you are booking non-standard accommodations, and by non-standard accommodations I mean trying to book 1 room to accommodate 6 people, DO NOT USE Priceline Express Deals or any opaque booking agent. Priceline Express deals work great if you need 1 room for a night and don't care about bed configurations (ie king bed, queen bed, 2 beds, etc).

For this circumstance, I would write a letter to Priceline, acknowledge that there may have been a misunderstanding. You got the impression that you could book a 1 bedroom suite that would accommodate 6 guests. The best solutions would be
1) Refund the room, so you can book something more appropriate (and NOT via Express Deals)
2) Book a 2nd room at the same hotel
 
Jul 30, 2018
279
730
93
48
#5
A very high percentage of regulars on this forum do not recommend using online travel agencies (OTA) for booking your travel. When things go as planned, life is good. If something bad happens it is a herculean effort to sort out the problem, as you unpleasantly have discovered. Instead, book directly with the travel supplier, who can meet or even do better than the rate you receive from an OTA.
 

Neil Maley

Moderator
Staff Member
Advocate
Dec 27, 2014
20,745
20,324
113
New York
www.promalvacations.com
#6
The real issue is using blind bidding when you have an unusual request. A room for 6 is difficult in ANY circumstance- we face this all the time for any clients that need to put 5 in a room. But to blind bid- bad idea. Go to a hotel website and book direct. Do you really need the aggravation of getting to a hotel you prepaid, finding out they can’t accommodate you and then having to find something else?
 

JVillegirl541

Verified Member
Nov 21, 2014
3,894
3,959
113
#7
I just went to Priceline and did a Express Deal booking for a Random hotel. And as I went to make the reservation after choosing a hotel I clicked on “details & policies” (see photos I have posted) but this hotel CLEARLY says “ All rates displayed are for double occupancy unless otherwise noted”
Did our OP look At the rules shown at booking for his hotel? I believe this is where the issue is.
8767044B-9B9E-4CBE-85B2-DD65F5F4E337.jpeg 95258CF8-B460-4F6D-9152-312F2F6F6976.jpeg
 
Dec 3, 2019
10
11
3
#9
Do you have screen shots to show what you saw?
You state that you have booked an Express Deal. My understanding with the Express Deal is that it is an opaque booking. That is, you select the deal, they give you the hotel. So I'm not sure how you got the impression that you were selecting a "1 bedroom 4 bed suite."
Also, 4 beds in a 1 bedroom suites simply don't exist. It is not a standard setup. Usually a 1 bedroom suite will have 1 king bed + sleeper sofa. On rare occasions you will find 2 beds in the bedroom + sleeper sofa, which would accommodate 6 guests.

In the future, if you are booking non-standard accommodations, and by non-standard accommodations I mean trying to book 1 room to accommodate 6 people, DO NOT USE Priceline Express Deals or any opaque booking agent. Priceline Express deals work great if you need 1 room for a night and don't care about bed configurations (ie king bed, queen bed, 2 beds, etc).


I do have screen shots of what the deal was and what the options were. I was under that impression because 1) I put in my dates and 3 adults/3 children and 2) that is the room type that Priceline offered me and I chose. Why would they offer a room type that isn't available? I had no idea that was a possibility. As with any hotel booking, I assume that when I tell it what I need, it's going to give me offers that fit that criteria, otherwise why bother asking the criteria needed?

I booked another express deal a few days earlier with a similar room type "1 bedroom suite". It said it accommodated our party, and it does. With 2 queens and a sleeper sofa. Because this listing had 2 different options, 1 met needs, 1 didn't, I assumed that the one meeting our needs was ACTUALLY an option. Why would there be a choice if there was no actual option at the hotel. That room type doesn't even exist. It's false advertising and VERY misleading. Which I'm starting to guess is the point of whole thing...to lock you into a room at all cost.
 

Attachments

Dec 3, 2019
10
11
3
#10
I just went to Priceline and did a Express Deal booking for a Random hotel. And as I went to make the reservation after choosing a hotel I clicked on “details & policies” (see photos I have posted) but this hotel CLEARLY says “ All rates displayed are for double occupancy unless otherwise noted”
Did our OP look At the rules shown at booking for his hotel? I believe this is where the issue is.


I booked online, not on my phone, and it looked nothing like this.
 
Dec 3, 2019
10
11
3
#12
Did you input the number of adults and children and one room when you booked? If I filtered that way I find no rooms for 8 people.

Yes, I did. I put in 3 adults and 3 children. When I tried it a few days ago I got nothing. But when I booked 2 months ago I got several options.
 

JVillegirl541

Verified Member
Nov 21, 2014
3,894
3,959
113
#13
It sure would be helpful to know the actual hotel so re can duplicate this booking. Both booking I made disclosed the Booking Terms or Rules in a link you had to click PRIOR to hitting the Purchase button.
Both booking said the rate was for max 2 person occupancy.
 
Dec 3, 2019
10
11
3
#14
It sure would be helpful to know the actual hotel so re can duplicate this booking. Both booking I made disclosed the Booking Terms or Rules in a link you had to click PRIOR to hitting the Purchase button.
Both booking said the rate was for max 2 person occupancy.

The hotel they put us at is The Point Orlando. Did you try it on the computer? Your screenshot is of a phone, which is different. There was no link I had to click prior to booking. I did this 2 months ago. Now when I try to duplicate the booking it won't even give me the option of an Express deal with more than 2 people. But that was not the case back in October when I booked. The website has obviously been updated/changed since then.

When I booked, I put in the number of people, 3 adults and 3 kids. It made me enter the exact ages of all of the kids. It gave me several hotel star options. I looked through them and chose this one based on the fact that it specifically said 4 beds, or 2 in the room type options. It had the option for both. If that's not a possibility, it should not have been a room type option.
 
Likes: JVillegirl541

JVillegirl541

Verified Member
Nov 21, 2014
3,894
3,959
113
#15
In the Orlando area I am definitely seeing 2 queens and a Sofabed. But not finding more than capacity for 2 adults and 4 children. Every hotel is different.
 
Likes: Neil Maley
Dec 3, 2019
10
11
3
#16
In the Orlando area I am definitely seeing 2 queens and a Sofabed. But not finding more than capacity for 2 adults and 4 children. Every hotel is different.

Yes, I found several that have 2 queens and a sofa bed. The first express deal I booked put us at the Holiday Inn, which had this exact room type. Finding a room isn't really an issue, since there are so many that would work. It's just that I now have this deal booked and it does not work and is not the room type they offered me.
 
Dec 19, 2014
559
1,457
93
47
#17
@Robbfamily8

Thank you for providing the screen shot. Do you have a screen shot where you entered into the reservation that you have 6 occupants for the room? I have to agree with with @JVillegirl541 posted, that Priceline Express deals aren't designed to handle more than 4 occupants. Even at 4 occupants, there have been issues that occur, as evident by posting here.

Were you able to specify on the reservation that you had 6 occupants? or did you just "assume" that since you were booking a room with 4 beds, that it could accommodate 6 guests?

Regarding the hotel/resort... which one were you assigned to? Based on your input of 3.5 stars/Universal area/Orlando, you could have got The Point - Orlando, or Westgate Palace. More likely The Point - Orlando, because their 1 bedrooms only have 1 bed + sleeper sofa. However, the property does offer 2 bedroom suites with 2 beds + 2 sleeper sofas.

Based on the information you provided, I definitely feel this is Priceline's error to fix. Specifically, you choose the booking based on the 4 beds available (the earlier fact that 1 bedrooms generally don't offer 4 beds is irrelevant). As a customer, you choose the bookings based on what was published (and I believe Priceline published it in error). However, in that case, it is not your problem.

At this point, I would write Priceline via the executive contacts a letter. State that you booked the deal because the deal specifically stated "4 beds" which would "easily accommodate your family of 6." However, you later discovered that the 1 bedroom suites can only accommodate 4 guests. If travel has not commenced and you want to stay at the resort, ask for Priceline to upgrade your reservation to a 2 bedroom suite. Alternatively, you can ask Priceline to change resorts (with your approval) to one that offers 2 bedroom suites. If none of the above is possible, then request a refund and book your own. There are many resorts in proximity that offer 2 bedroom suites that can accommodate 6 guests.

Based on the evidence you presented (ie the screen shot showing the selection of 1 bedroom - 4 beds), I feel you have a strong case to present to Priceline. However, I would still advice against using opaque bidding in the future because bedding is almost never guaranteed in opaque reservations.
 

Neil Maley

Moderator
Staff Member
Advocate
Dec 27, 2014
20,745
20,324
113
New York
www.promalvacations.com
#18
I agree with Chris. If there was no option to choose the 2 bedroom suite- I think you should ask Priceline move you to the two bedroom.

I am willing to bet Priceline is going to blame the hotel and say “the hotel is responsible for what is in the system” . You bid through Priceline and I believe they need to make it right.

This is one story that should be on the blog.
 
Jan 6, 2015
3,397
4,050
113
the United States
#19
First, I looked at the hotel website: https://www.thepointorlando.com/suites.htm

The site only shows suites, for which it lists:

Executive Suite: sleeps 2-4​
Double King: sleeps 2-4​
One bedroom Suite: sleeps 2-4​
Two bedroom suite: sleeps up to 8, King size beds​

Then I did an express deal on Priceline: https://www.priceline.com/relax/in/3000003349/from/20200415/to/20200416/rooms/1/nha

which shows this:

1575819817247.png

When I click on the listing the resulting page shows:

1575819830657.png

and "The suites and studios feature a cable TV and separate living area with sofa bed". Nothing is said about 4 beds.


All told, what this shows to me is that to book a unit with one bedroom that sleeps more than 4 people requires a Private Rental to be available for the dates in question. That would, I think, be very limiting and could explain why it's no longer showing.

The only other option is the the two bedroom suite, but you may still not get the four beds. I suggest you call the hotel first to ascertain your options.
 
Likes: jsn55