Basic Economy-Can you ever change the ticket?

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
Mar 18, 2015
Background-I purchased a basic economy fare for $675 in March for a trip 10 days from now. It is my first time purchasing basic economy and it will be the last. I have the explorer credit card so I can check a bag and bring a carry-on with a basic economy purchase therefore I did not see any reason to pay $125 more for a regular economy ticket. I had no reason to think I would not go on this trip.

Unfortunately, the organizer of the trip's sibling died last week and they are no longer going. I understand and accept that I purchased a non-changeable ticket. I wish I could pay a change fee and use the remaining $ towards a flight later this year. Has anyone ever tried to seek an exception to the basic economy terms?

Thanks

Neil Maley

Staff Member
Advocate
Dec 27, 2014
New York
www.promalvacations.com
No. Basic economy is non refundable and non changeable. We just had another person today who wrote about this - she contacted the airline and they told her no.