Bank of America's unwritten policy to charge off nondelinquent credit card account if consumer files bankruptcy

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
Feb 19, 2021
I am a Retired Disabled Navy Veteran. I filed Chapter 13 on 10/1/2016 to save my home from a racist HOA. I listed BOA as a creditor. However, I continued to fulfill my obligation to BOA. I paid timely and well above the minimum payment. However, BOA charged off the account on 12/4/2016. I was never late before filing Ch. 13; I did not go through with the bankruptcy and the Ch. 13 was dismissed in March 2017.