Airfares to Europe in July-August / Online search vs Travel Agent (not Expedia/Travelocity etc. but an actual agent)

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
May 16, 2018
Hello,

This is my first time posting, and I decided not to post in the Travel Agencies section because the only sub-threads are for the online variety, which I will not use. (Additionally I have not seen that Expedia and CheapOAir and the like have better prices for my route.)

I have traveled extensively and have always booked my own travel, but am lately finding it a fairly miserable experience. I am planning a trip (with family) from Boston to Vienna, Austria in August (maybe could leave late July) and the prices are sobering. I don't mind doing the work....but it's been fruitless. I thought this would be a great moment to hire a brick-and-mortar travel agent, but I'm striking out there too. Here's what I'm finding: