Airbnb takes the fun out of refund :(

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
Sep 23, 2018
Hello! This is my first time posting on a forum. I booked an Airbnb condo in Maui on August 28, 2018 for dates Oct 27-Nov 1. My plans changed and I canceled on September 7th. I received a cancellation confirmation saying that I would receive a $867.50 refund of my $939.27 deposit. I contacted the host and she said that she does show a refund on her end. I contacted Airbnb and they said that due to the strict cancellation policy I would not receive a refund because I did not cancel within 48 hours. I finally found the cancellation policy on the Airbnb listing but it was not stated in my contract. I’m hoping to recieve at least some of my deposit back. The host told me twice that she saw a refund on her end but Airbnb keep saying that due to district policy I would not receive a refund. I understand taking a service fee or a cancellation fee but at this point the host is getting about $750 of my deposit and the unit has already been rented out for those same dates. This was my first experience with Airbnb and I did not realize that the cancellation policy was on the listing and would not appear on the contra