Fee For Termination of Contract

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
Feb 18, 2016
I had been doing business with Verizon for several years and had to terminate my service with them because of chronically slow internet. Upon cancellation of my service they charged me a "3 year termination fee". I had been doing business with them for over 3 years and couldn't understand how they could charge me this fee. They claim that by paying my monthly bill I had entered into a 3 year contract with them and that by cancelling my service I was in breach of that contract and was therefore assessed a fee. Any indication that I was in a contract with them is hidden on page two under the description Verizon Single Line BUS PK- 3 Year. I had no idea when this contract started or when it would end. I was under the impression that because they hadn't actually mailed me a contract that I was paying month to month.

Neil Maley

Staff Member
Advocate
Dec 27, 2014
New York
www.promalvacations.com
So you had a business package, not a personal? Are you wanting to dispute the fee?

Here are our contacts for Verizon.
http://elliott.org/company-contacts/verizon-communications-inc/