Ethiopian Airlines bumped asylee relatives

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
May 1, 2018
My name is Ibrahima Maiga, I am a francophone refugee journalist in the United States since 2014. Following incidents related to my work as a journalist I had to settle in the United States where I received asylum a few weeks after my arrival. Following my acceptance, I applied for my children (6 and 4 years) to join me for security reasons. After obtaining a V92 visa for them in November 2017, I worked to save, to pay for their plane tickets so that they could join me because their visas expired in early March 2018. Given the age of my children I bought one-way tickets (since they had immigrant visas) and a round-trip ticket for an adult in possession of a valid tourist visa to come with them. Tickets bought from Ethiopian Airlines, I was waiting for my children since they took off from Ouagadougou airport in Burkina Faso on February 11, 2018 to arrive normally the next day after a transit in Addis Ababa. The next day instead of receiving my children, it was a call from the adult who informed me that they had returned to Burkina Faso after being bumped from the plane in Addis. Surprised by this situat